Google Maps

By loading Google Maps, you accept the Google Maps privacy policy.

Would you like to accept additional cookies and load external content automatically: call up the cookie dialog.

The province of Burgenland

Burgenland has a population of 282,242 and is the most easterly and the smallest of Austria’s federal provinces. To the west it borders on Lower Austria and Styria and Hungary to the east. In the south it shares a frontier with Slovakia and Slovenia. The total land area of the Burgenland measures 3,965.46 km² and the provincial capital is Eisenstadt.


The main tourist attractions in Burgenland are Lake Neusiedl, the thermal spas of Lutzmannsburg (the Sonnentherme), Stegersbach and Bad Tatzmannsdorf. Burgenland is also known, not without good reason, as a “cyclists’ paradise” on account of its 1,800 km signposted and mostly asphalted cycle paths and 433 km mountain-bike trails.

But you don’t necessarily need a bike to explore the beauty of Burgenland; you can also enjoy the lovely countryside on its 1,000 km network of bridle paths. To complete its list of outdoor activities, Burgenland has swimming facilities across the province and abundant running and walking trails as well as fascinating hiking routes. The surf season at Lake Neusiedl begins with the annual windsurf opening in April and finishes in October.

Every year the operetta festival in Mörbisch on the open air stage of Lake Neusiedl attracts thousands of enthusiastic operetta fans during the summer.