Google Maps

By loading Google Maps, you accept the Google Maps privacy policy.

Would you like to accept additional cookies and load external content automatically: call up the cookie dialog.

The province of Vienna

Vienna is the federal capital and also one of Austria’s nine provinces. The city has a population of about 1,680,000 making it the most populous city in the country; the greater Vienna area counts in total about two million inhabitants, that’s one quarter of the entire population of Austria. Vienna has a land area of 414.89 km². In terms of its population, Vienna is the tenth largest city in the European Union.


The city is famous across the world and a popular tourist destination on account of its many grand buildings from the time of the Holy Roman Empire and the Austrian imperial era, its range of cultural activities and not least its reputation as a center for music; Vienna, as we all know, is famous for the creations of many renowned classical composers such as Beethoven, Mozart and Mahler.

Many visitors come in December for the city’s Christmas markets, the New Year’s Trail through the old town and the “Kaiserball”. Most places of interest in Vienna can be seen all year. The most-visited of these are St. Stephen’s Cathedral, the palace and zoo at Schönbrunn, the Museum of Fine Arts, the Imperial Palace, the Albertina museum, the Riesenrad (giant wheel) and the MuseumsQuartier museum.