Google Maps

By loading Google Maps, you accept the Google Maps privacy policy.

Would you like to accept additional cookies and load external content automatically: call up the cookie dialog.

The province Steiermark

Styria is – with an area of von 16.391,93 km² and approx. 1.207.076 inhabitants – the second largest province of Austria. Steiermark borders 5 adjacent Austrian provinces and 1 other country: Upper Austria, Lower Austria, Salzburg, Burgenland, Carinthia and to the South, the Republic of Slovenia. The capital city of Steiermark is Graz, and gained worldwide recognition in 2003 earning the title of the “European Cultural Capital”.

The Green Heart of Austria

Between the unspoilt nature of the Dachstein glacier in the north, and the picturesque winery region in the south, lies the second-largest province and one of the most attractive holiday destinations of Austria – Steiermark. The vast forests, along with a mild Mediterranean climate, guarantee the province is green for more than half the year, thereby providing fantastic outdoor activities for the whole family. As a dramatic contrast, in winter, snow coverage ensures endless winter holiday possibilities.

Summer in Styria

Nature, enjoyment and sociability take centre stage during a holiday in Steiermark.
The excellent reputation of Steiermark is trade-marked by its natural treasures: forests, wines, apples, pumpkins, outstanding drinking water and pure thermal water are typical styrian. People in Steiermark are considered to be humorous and fun-loving, honest, attached to their native soil and very sport orientated.

Winter in Styria

The land of Styrians presents itself in many facets: winter sport, winter sleep, winter wellness, culture and tradition, great events and indistinctive styrian quality with regard to food and drink. Typical and unmistakeable are also the many little “worlds” in Steiermark: the Dachstein glacier and the Tauern-summits, the lakes and mountains in the Ausseerland-Salzkammergut, the large valleys and dense forests in the Upper Steiermark, the sunny Murtal, the hilly South- and West-Steiermark, the cultural capital Graz, the Thermenland Steiermark and the Oststeiermark.>

For more information go to